Eric Beerkens

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterAcademic

    14 Downloads (Pure)


    The system of post-secondary education in Austria includes four types of institutions, and is divided into two sectors. The university sector includes eighteen universities, of which twelve are regular universities and six are universities of the arts. The non-university sector includes specialised programmes for applied studies: the Fachhochschulstudien, established in 1994-1995. Furthermore, there are the Akademien in the field of social work, teacher training, paramedical professions and religious education. In Austrian terms however, these Akademien are not part of the higher education system (Pechar, 1998).
    Original languageEnglish
    Title of host publicationFixed and fuzzy boundaries in higher education
    Subtitle of host publicationa comparative study of (binary) structures in nine countries
    EditorsJ. Huisman, F. Kaiser
    Place of PublicationDen Haag
    PublisherAdviesraad voor het Wetenschaps- en Technologie-beleid
    Number of pages11
    ISBN (Print)90-346-3911-8
    Publication statusPublished - 2001

    Publication series

    PublisherAdviesraad voor het Wetenschaps- en Technologiebeleid


    Dive into the research topics of 'Austria'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this